Thursday, December 18, 2008

Shornur bypoll :CPM loses power

For the first time in history, the CPM lost power in Shornur municipality.

In the byelections to nine wards in the Municipality, the Democratic Development Samithi (DDS) led by former Municipality vice-chairman M R Murali won eight wards and CPM bagged stalin_statue only one seat.

Murali, a former youth leader of the CPI(M) from VS Achutanandan Faction, earned the wrath of the Pinarayi Vijayan faction when he aggressively campaigned for two infrastructure projects in the town. Murali wanted the municipality to blacklist a contractor who failed to complete a project. Murali had told The Indian Express.

“The contractor who got the project was a benami for a leader of the rival (Vijayan) faction. All efforts to initiate action against the contractor fell flat as the party leadership stood by the contractor,”

The CPI(M) sacked Murali in early July. His exit was followed by an exodus from the CPI(M) rank and file in the area. Murali, along with eight CPI(M) councillors who quit to join him, formed the PDC.

CPI(M) rebel groups are now planning a state-level political forum.

Current strength of 30-member municipality:  CPM - 14 seats, Congress-7, DDS-8 and BJP –1.

CPM has reacted by announcing a Bandh to protest against victory of Rebels!!!